Windows 8?

11 replies [Last post]
StatikDub

So I'm an amateur music producer and love nanostudio. I'm only 13 so the fact that it's free on computers is awesome. Anyway, I just got a windows 8 computer and went to download nanostudio, to find that it isn't available for windows 8. I'm really familiar with nanostudio so I don't want to change. Basically, is nanostudio going to be available for windows 8 anytime soon?

Jim Hanks

Just try the Windows version anyway. It works on 7 so there's a very good chance it will just work on 8 too.

StatikDub

Duh. Well thanks.

kitejan

I have a Windows 8 test virtual machine at work - will try Nanostudio on that to see what happens, but from software we tested it looks like a lot of stuff works straight away (16 bit Microsoft Access 2 anyone? Kid you not....). But you never know.....

This is just a straight Windows 8 PC/laptop? Not a tablet or MS surface?

kitejan

Good news/bad news: tested and while it installed OK Nanostudio complained about needed Microsoft .Net 3.5 - which wont install on Windows 8, partly (I think) because a later version is built in. It also loads and runs.... in a fashion. Screen updates are VERY slow - to the point of not being usable. Now this could be because its a virtual Windows 8 machine (running on Oracle VirtualBox) and I didnt get the right combination of host and guest drivers and options.... but I dont think so - at least I cant see what else to tick/enable/install. I seem to recall a thread where Blip mentions that Windows 8 changes some stuff that Nanostudio uses and performance will suffer, but I cant find it.

Perhaps installing on a "real" computer will give a better indication, but I havent got the time at the moment to do so at work (and no way am I going Windows 8 at home until I have to and/or they put the start button back where it belongs on the bottom left of the task bar :-) ).

Maybe someone else can give a better indication?

Jan

Blip Interactive

Try this: