Can't play pad sounds on actual pads using MPK49

3 replies [Last post]
neeboy

Brace yourselves, this is a total noob question:

I just got a used MPK49 controller. I've successfully used Nanostudio on Win-7 before using a different keyboard before getting that controller, so I know I'm doing something right.

I cannot get the pads to play drum sounds....I can only get:
1) drum sounds from playing piano keys
2) keyboard sounds using the pads

I'm sure there's a setting or two that's goofed up...the controller seems in perfect working condition.

wtf...I'm seriously messed up here!

This is still all fairly new to me, so does anyone have any short, helpful advice? I've tried reading the MPK49 manual, but again, too much info too soon, sorta... Thanks!

PeBeKafeen27

Hi

I had great success with Windows 7 using the Nanostudio (latest version). I also use it on the Windows XP. I know you have The MPK 49 and that is a dope piece. But you may find more success with the Akai MPK Mini. The only draw back with it as a trigger on a PC is that (I personally) was only able to use 4 of the 8 pads on the controller device. and did not find out how to get the other four pads to control more of the beat construction. I downloaded a few extra things for the MPK Mini. Nanostudio recognized the device controller and was ready for MIDI and more. It gave me way more navigation and manipulation than the using the primary kiosk on my laptop. I was gazing at the Akai MPK 49 (as well as the interface version for the iPad and the iMPC App for iPad http://www.musicradar.com/news/tech/namm-2011-akai-synthstation49-ipad-m...). In an effort to help check out this article it may lead you to the info you need http://www.musicradar.com/gear/tech/computers-software/peripherals/input...

In conclusion, I know this was not brief or even lack some pointers but check out the links (it's not spam or a virus)...see what you learn through the online magazine.

Peace!

no_tallent_wanker