i like to see an Audio Units version of Eden (AU / VSTi)

22 replies [Last post]
tom2000

Hello.

Maybe you think that there are millions of AU Synths out there... but,

i really like to see the EDEN as AU audio units Plug-in (maybe as VSTi, too) in my Logic 9. i did not see any faster virtual instrument to programm cool sounds from scratch for years... even the simple implementation of a sampler is unbelievable and versatile.

then it would be much easier to export songs for "on the go" or load the mobil songs right into logic.

what do you think? anyone?

T2

Blip Interactive

Yes this has been mooted before, and I'm still up for it at some point. I need to collect more data on what people want before deciding how to do it. A couple of immediate considerations would be:

- Use ReWire or a VST/AU architecture?
- Provide the whole of NanoStudio as a single 'instrument', or have multiple instances of single Eden/TRG-16 instruments?

I've never done anything in this area before and haven't yet done the research so I don't know much about the code implications of these choices. I read that ReWire splits the UI and the audio device but I don't know if this split is conceptual or physical - if it's the latter, it could mean a large amount of work.

Personally I never got on much with Rewire - I like having everything contained in the DAW, but others seemed keen on it. Similarly, having the whole of NanoStudio contained as a single instrument seemed to make more sense to me since it'd be possible to load a project file straight in and go, but other posts such as yours seem to request just the synth on its own.

Feel free to discuss ...

abimas

Hi there
Personally, for me works better to have Virtual Instruments within the DAW as AU, in this way I don't have to deal with the manual, specific functionality of the sequencer of the VI, switching between app's, taking care of computer performance... even though these are a relative easy taks.