Production Newbie

7 replies [Last post]
DJ-Dfekt

Hi Guys ..Ive been mixing (vinyl) drum n bass records for years now and know my way around decks and mixer no problem. I have very little knowledge of using sequencers and the software NanoStudio uses, although I do have an ear for music. I was wondering how easy for a beginner this software was to use? Are there any good tutorials online? Are u guys who are making tracks new to this ? Or experienced? Cheers for any help.

- Olly AKA DJ Dfekt (UK)

shannong

Honestly, I think NanoStudio makes a *perfect* low-cost introduction to the world of sequencing. You can't get any lower-cost than $15 to $20 (US) and get all this:

4 melodic keyboard tracks with a great-sounding synth engine
A 16-pad drum trigger unit
A sequencer with both piano-roll editing and visual part/pattern arrangement
A mixer and several effects boxes

So $15 to $20 buys you: a synth workstation, a drum machine, a DAW/sequencer application, a mixer, and two outboard effects units. Walk into your local music store and tally how much buying the cheapest versions of all that will cost you.

Oh and you can do this on your couch, the bus, at work, anywhere!

Vingdoloras

I am totally new to making music, and I tend to say that I suck at making good sounding tunes (nevertheless I do love playing around with Xewton Music Studio, DopplerPad, many many other music apps for iPhone AND of course NanoStudio). Most apps never had a chance to be the first program I ever use, just because they are only useful for making short loops... I have no program to put these loops together on my PC (yet ;-P) and I was looking for an app with a sequencer that allows me to build full songs!

So, the first app I found that lets me do this was Xewton Music Studio. I tried to make music on it, and it was not too bad